New Album
Paul Jones' new CD, Starting All Over Again, is his first solo album in decades. It was released this March on Continental Blue Heaven.

Backing Jones on the project are Eric Clapton who plays guitar on two tracks (“Choose or Cop Out” and “Starting All Over Again”) and Jake Andrews (Guitar Shorty, “Blue Xmas”) guitar; Tony Marsico (Plugz, Cruzados, Neil Young, Peter Case), bass; Alvino Bennett (LTD, Stevie Wonder, Bryan Ferry, Dave Mason), drums; Mike Thompson (Eagles, Don Henley), piano and Hammond B3 organ; Ernie Watts (Rolling Stones, Thelonious Monk, Steely Dan), saxophone; Darrell Leonard (Duane Allman, Freddie King, Smokey Robinson), trumpet; Tom Junior Morgan (Percy Sledge, Mick Taylor, Phil Seymour), saxophone; Mikael Rickfors (The Hollies), backing vocals, acoustic guitar.

Paul, Eric Clapton, Carla Olson and Mikael Rickfors. (photo by Lee Davis)

The producer is Carla Olson, who has produced albums or tracks by Joe Louis Walker, Phil Upchurch, Otis Rush, The Ventures, Taj Mahal, Mare Winningham and a host of others, and who has recorded with Ry Cooder, Don Henley, Eric Johnson, John Fogerty, Mick Taylor and Gene Clark.

On the circuitous road from Manfred Mann in the ‘60s to the present, the multitalented Jones recorded three solo albums in the ‘60s and turned to acting — first in films and television, then on stage. His films include the underground classics Privilege and The Committee. Among his television credits are  Z Cars, Space 1999 and The Sweeney. He also appeared in productions for London’s Royal National Theater and the Royal Shakespeare Company, and has worked with directors Sir Richard Eyre, Peter Gill and Toby Robertson. His gold albums include one for the original recording of Evita. He still records and performs in The Manfreds, a band that includes Jones and other Manfred Mann alumni and he hosts a blues radio show on BBC’s World Service.

The new album features “Lover To Cry,” penned by Jake Andrews, guitarist on most of the album; “If You Love Me (Like You Say)” by bluesman Little Johnnie Taylor; “Choose or Cop Out,” a Jones original featuring Clapton; the title track ”Starting All Over Again” by Stax soul star Johnnie Taylor, also featuring Clapton; “I’m Gone,” by the Swedish band The Creeps; “Philosopher’s Stone,” a Van Morrison song; “Need to Know,” written by British and Nigerian artist Ola Onabule; “Gratefully Blue,” an Eric Bibb composition; “When He Comes,” written by Jones with ex-Hollies member Mikael Rickfors; and an instrumental, “Alvino’s Entourage.” Also included is a bonus track, “Big Blue Diamonds,” a duet between Jones and Percy Sledge which originally appeared on Sledge’s 2004 Shining Through the Rain album.

Paul Jones – Starting All Over Again

1 Lover To Cry 3:54
2 If You Love Me (Like You Say) 3:35
3 Choose Or Cop Out 4:03
4 Sundown 4:21
5 Starting All Over Again 4:37
6 I’m Gone 3:42
7 Philosopher’s Stone 5:06
8 Gratefully Blue 3:25
9 Need To Know 5:11
10 Still True 6:02
11 When He Comes 4:38
12 Alvino’s Entourage 6:13

Bonus track

13 Big Blue Diamonds 3:53

© 2009  Carla Olson Productions and Paul Jones

Recorded by Ashburn Miller, Billy Sullivan, Alan Douglas, Bill Gautier
mixed and mastered by Andy Waterman

Paul Jones – lead vocals, harmonica
Jake Andrews – guitars
Eric Clapton – guitar (Choose Or Cop Out, Starting All Over Again)
Tony Marsico – bass guitar, standup bass
Alvino Bennett – drums
Mike Thompson – piano, Hammond B3 organ
Joe Sublett – saxophone (If You Love Me, Sundown)
Darrell Leonard – trumpet (If You Love Me, I’m Gone)
Ernie Watts – saxophone (Need To Know)
Tom Junior Morgan – saxophone (Still True)
Johnny Vandenberg - trumpet (Still True)
Lance Keller - trombone (Still True)
Mikael Rickfors – vocals (Sundown, I’m Gone, When He Comes), acoustic guitar (When He Comes)
Oren Waters – vocals (Still True)
Luther Waters – vocals (Still True)

13 Big Blue Diamonds (Earl Carson)
bonus track credits

Percy Sledge and Paul Jones – vocals
Larry Byrom – guitars
Bob Glaub – bass guitar
Ed Greene – drums
Clayton Ivey – piano
Tom Junior Morgan - saxophone
Joe Sublett - saxophone
Darrell Leonard - trumpet

Produced by Saul Davis and Barry Goldberg
Recorded & mixed by Steve Melton at Sound City, Van Nuys, CA 2004

Big Blue Diamonds courtesy of VSP: Jonathan Bross and Lisette Bross from the Varese Sarabande / UNI Percy Sledge album Shining Through The Rain, thanks to Brett Nemeroff

Marketed by Continental Record Services
Continental Blue Heaven CD 2015 (CBHCD 2015)
UPC: 8713762320157